Member-to-Member Directory

Olumuyiwa Adeboye, MD, FACP, MBA, FAAHPM
Ascension Health
Appleton, WI
920-851-0726
olumuyiwa.adeboye@ascension.org
Specialty: Palliative Care
Primary position: Medical Director Palliative Care
Settings: Inpatient and Outpatient
Experience: Hospice and Palliative Medicine, Hospital Medicine
Expertise: Oncology/Palliative Care interface; Inpatient Palliative consults
Social Media Handles: @moyecome

Karen Allen, MS
Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady Health System
Baton Rouge, LA
225-922-7469
karen.allen@fmolhs.org
Primary position: President Senior Services

Tammy Alvarez, MSN, RN, CCRN
Providence St. Joseph Health
Irvine, CA
949-381-4752
tammy.alvarez@stjoe.org
Primary position: Executive Director, Improving Performance

Lea Ames, MBA
SSM Health
St. Louis, MO
314-989-2162
lea.ames@ssmhealth.com
Specialty: Program Management: Palliative Care, Community Benefit
Primary position: System Director, Mission-Values Programming
Settings: Non-clinical, business, corporate office of multidisciplinary complex health system
Experience: 20 years of program management in community and health care non-profits
Expertise: policy management, program evaluation management, change management

Francine Arneson, MD
Avera
Sioux Falls, SD
605-322-8993 (office); 605-270-7456 (cell)
francine.arneson@avera.org
Specialty: Neurology, Palliative Medicine
Primary position: Medical Director Palliative Medicine
Settings: Inpatient & Outpatient Palliative Care, Outpatient/Cancer Center Palliative Care
Experience: Hospice Medical Director, Palliative Care Medical Director
Expertise: Stroke, Neurology, Palliative Medicine

Alice Battista, MSN, CHPN
Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady Health System
Baton Rouge, LA
225-765-8996 (desk); 225-274-5556 (cell)
alice.battista@fmolhs.org
Specialty: Palliative Care, Advance Care Planning
Primary position: Director, Supportive Care Services
Settings: Inpatient and Outpatient Palliative Care
Experience: Nursing
Expertise: Organ donation, ALS multidisciplinary clinic

Robert Bergamini, MD
Mercy
St. Louis, MO
314-251-6986
robert.bergamini@mercy.net
Specialty: Pediatrics
Primary position: Medical Director, Mercy Palliative Care, Mercy Clinic, Children's Cancer & Hematology
Settings: Inpatient, Outpatient Pediatrics

Thomas Butler, ThM, MDiv
Bon Secours Health System
Marriottsville, MD
410-913-7421
thomas_butler@bshsi.org
Primary position: Director of Mission Services

Hoa Cooper, DNP, RN, NEA-BC
OSF Care System
Peoria, IL
309-308-6143
hoa.m.cooper@osfhealthcare.org
Specialty: Nurse, Care Management
Primary position: Vice President, OSF Care Management
Settings: Hospital and Physician's offices
Experience: Nursing operation, project management, hospitalist, palliative care
Expertise: Throughput, care continuum, data analysis/cost, clinicial denial
Social Media Handles: @hmlady1, LinkedIn, Facebook, Instagram

Karen Coughlin, RN, MSN
Sisters of Charity Health System
Canton, OH
330-458-4230
karen.coughlin@cantonmercy.org
Primary position: Administrative Director, Cancer Services, Mercy Cancer Center

Darren Henson, PhD
Ascension/AMITA
Chicago, Il
312-308-3919
darren.henson@presencehealth.org
Specialty: Theology, Ethics, Spirituality, Mission Integration
Primary position: Regional Officer for Mission & Discernment
Settings: System Office
Experience: Rural hospitals, Urban hospitals, Corporate Office, Teaching Institutions

Denise Hess, MDiv, BCC-HPCC, LMFT
Supportive Care Coalition
Hillsboro, OR
503-216-5375 (office); 310-386-3902 (cell)
denise.hess@providence.org
Specialty: Palliative Care Chaplaincy, Marriage & Family Therapy
Primary position: Executive Director, Supportive Care Coalition
Settings: Inpatient, Outpatient, Administration, Education
Experience: Palliative care chaplaincy, counseling/behavioral health, education
Expertise: Palliative Care, Spiritual Care, Team Building, No One Dies Alone
Social Media Handles: @DeniseHess

Sarah Hetue Hill, PhD
Ascension Health
Pensacola, Fl
314-733-8218
sehill@ascension.org
Primary position: Director, Palliative Care

Doreen Kluth, MS, BSN, RN
Hospital Sisters Health System
Green Bay, WI
920-272-3386
doreen.kluth@hshs.org
Specialty: RN, BSN, MS
Primary position: Executive Director, Care Continuum
Settings: Hospital, clinic, post-acute
Experience: Palliative Care, Care Management, Home Health, Hospitalist, Rehab
Expertise: Case Management
Social Media Handles: Facebook, LinkedIn

Jennifer Kozakowski, MN, MPH
Providence St. Joseph Health
Torrance, CA
310-780-7001 (cell)
jennifer.kozakowski@providence.org
Specialty: Leadership, Operations
Primary position: Associate Vice President, Institute for Human Caring
Settings: All
Experience: 35 years of experience in health care: payer, provider, employer in all areas
Expertise: Whole Person Care, Quality & Safety

Lois Lane, FNP-BC, JD
Catholic Health Initiatives
Englewood, CO
303-383-2788 (office); 812-322-2667 (cell)
loislane@catholichealth.net
Primary position: Vice President, Mission Integration
Experience: Palliative Care (adult), Ethics, Mission

Sr. M. Peter Lillian Di Maria, O.Carm.
Carmelite Sisters for the Aged and Infirm
Germantown, NY
518-537-5000
srpeter@avilainstitute.org
Primary position: Director, Avila Institute of Gerontology 

Diane McCarthy, MA, BCC
Archdiocese of Boston
Braintree, MA
617-746-5732
dmccarthy@rcab.org
Specialty: Chaplaincy
Primary position: Parish Education Coordinator, Initiative on Palliative Care and Advance Care Planning
Experience: Board-certified chaplain, 5 years experience in Catholic long-term care
Expertise: Spirituality; Catholic teaching regarding serious illness and end-of-life care

Sr. Julie McCarthy, O.Carm, MAHCM
Carmelite Sisters for the Aged and Infirm
Germantown, NY
518-537-7500 x213
sisterjm@carmelitesystem.org
Specialty: Mission
Primary position: Vice President of Missions
Settings: Long-term care
Experience: 28 years in long-term care (Admission & Activities)
Expertise: Eldercare

Carrie Meyer McGrath, MDiv, MAS
CHA
St. Louis, MO
314-253-3544
cmeyermcgrath@chausa.org
Specialty: Mission, Pastoral Care
Primary position: Director of Mission Services
Settings: Association, Pastoral Care Advisory Committee
Experience: Formation, mission
Expertise: Formation, Mission, Spirituality
Social Media Handles: @CarrieMMcG, LinkedIn

Vincent Nguyen, DO, CMD
Hoag/Providence St. Joseph Health
Newport Beach & Irvine, CA
949-764-8585
vincent.nguyen@hoag.org
Specialty: Family Practice, Palliative Medicine, Geriatrics
Primary position: Program Medical Director, CARES Program
Settings: Inpatient, Outpatient, Clinic, House calls, Telemedicine
Experience: 24 years in medicine
Expertise: Family practice, Palliative Medicine, Geriatrics, Medical cannabis
Social Media Handles: @drvincentdat

Patricia Peters, MD
Avera
Sioux Falls, SD
949-764-8585 (office); 605-310-1804 (cell)
patricia.peters@avera.org; drpeters2002@yahoo.com
Specialty: Family Medicine, Functional Medicine
Primary position: Medical Director of Avera Medical Group McGreey Clinic; Medical Director of Avera Medical Group Functional Medicine Clinic
Settings: Family Medicine Clinic and Functional Medicine Clinic
Experience: 35 years in family medicine, teaching medical students, leadership
Expertise: Functional Medicine, Elder Care, Chronic Care
Social Media Handles: Facebook: Patty Peters

Robert Sawicki, MD
OSF HealthCare
Peoria, Il
309-308-5951
robert.sawicki@osfhealthcare.org
Specialty:  Family Medicine; Hospice & Palliative Medicine
Primary position: Vice President of Clinical Services, Post-Acute and Home Care
Settings: System-level
Experience: Family Medicine, Hospice Medical Director, Administration
Expertise: Advance Care Planning, System-level work
Social Media Handles: @DrSawicki

Colleen Scanlon, RN, JD
Catholic Health Initiatives
Englewood, CO
303-383-2693
colleenscanlon@catholichealth.net
Primary position: Senior Vice President, Chief Advocacy Officer

Anne Margaret Shuham, D. Bioethics, MA
PeaceHealth
Ketchikan, AK
907-225-5174 x7384
ashuham@peacehealth.org
Specialty: Clinical Ethics, Advance Care planning, Community Engagement, Palliative Care
Primary position: Clinical Bioethicist, Manger Palliative Care
Settings: Hospital/Transitional Care Unit
Experience: 29 years in the health care field
Expertise: Advance Care Planning, Community Engagement, Palliative care

Indu Spugnardi
CHA
Washington, DC
202-721-6332
ispugnardi@chausa.org
Specialty: Advocacy
Primary position: Director, Advocacy and Resource Development

MC Sullivan, RN, MTS, JD
Archdiocese of Boston
Braintree, MA
617-746-5732
mc_sullivan@rcab.org
Primary position: Chief Healthcare Ethicist, Director - Initiative on Palliative Care and Advance Care Planning

Patrick Tandingan, MD
PeaceHealth
Eugene, OR
541-461-7550
ptandingan@peacehealth.org
Primary position: System Medical Director of Hospice & Palliative Care

Gregg Vandekieft, MD
Providence St. Joseph Health
Olympia, WA
360-870-2800
gregg.vandekieft@providence.org
Specialty: Hospice & Palliative Medicine, Family Medicine
Primary position: Medical Director for Palliative Care
Settings: Inpatient consult service, outpatient clinic
Experience: 12 years hospice, 12 years palliative medicine
Expertise: Clinical Ethics
Social Media Handles: @vandekieftg

Jerry Wilmes, MD
SSM Health
Maryville, MO
660-562-1350
gerald.wilmes@ssmhealth.com
Primary position: Medical Director - Hospice & Palliative Medicine

Leanne Yanni, MD
Bon Secours Health System
Richmond, VA
804-288-2673
leanne_yanni@bshsi.org
Primary position: Medical Director, Palliative Medicine
 

Supportive Care Coalition